A 24-Decade History of Popular Music

Fabulousness can come in many forms, and Taylor Mac seems intent on assuming every one of them.
-The New York Times

Join us for the next installment of Taylor Mac’s 24-Decade musical extravaganza, as Taylor adds The Flea to a venue roster including The Public Theater, Lincoln Center, The Sydney Opera House, and New York Live Arts. Directed by Taylor Mac and Artistic Director Niegel Smith, Taylor Mac will emerge as a bedazzled creature, exploring community and history through song.

A 24-Decade History of Popular Music:

1776-1836: Work in Progress

Conceived, written, performed and co-directed by
Taylor Mac

Music Director/Piano/Backing Vocals
Matt Ray

Niegel Smith

Costume Designer
Machine Dazzle

Jocelyn Clarke

Associate Producer: Kaleb Kilkenny
Associate Producer: Alisa E. Regas
Executive Producer: Linda Brumbach
Co-Produced by Pomegranate Arts and Nature’s Darlings

Lighting Designer: Brian Aldous
Sound Designer: Miles Polaski
Stage Manager: Michal Mendelson
Sound Engineer: Lilly West
Follow Spot Operator: Cypress Staelin

Electric Guitar – Viva De Concini
Upright Bass – Aidan O’Donnell
Drums – Bernice “Boom Boom” Brooks

A 24-DECADE HISTORY OF POPULAR MUSIC is commissioned in part by Carole Shorenstein Hays, The Curran SF; Carolina Performing Arts, at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Center for the Art of Performance at UCLA; Hancher Auditorium at the University of Iowa; Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago; New Haven Festival of Arts & Ideas; New York Live Arts; OZ Arts Nashville; University Musical Society of the University of Michigan.

This work was developed with the support of the Park Avenue Armory residency program and the 2015 Sundance Institute Theatre Lab at the Sundance Resort.

A 24-DECADE HISTORY OF POPULAR MUSIC was made possible with funding by the New England Foundation for the Arts’ National Theater Project, with lead funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Also featuring The Bats

Samantha Aneson, Julia Anrather, Kevin Argus, Tommy Bernardi, Emilie Bienne, Maki Borden, Jessie Cannizzaro, Hye Young Chyun, Emma Clark, Yurie Collins, Anna Dart, Taylor Edelhart, Lindsay Gitter, Ethan Hardy, Ashton Muñiz, Neil Redfield, Xiomara Rolon, Brittane Rowe, Ben Schrager, Brendan Sokler, Ryan Stinnett, Jennifer Tchiakpe, Casey Wortmann.

Download Program