New Georges presents

Leap and the Net Will Appear

June 16 - June 30, 2019
Tickets start at $25*
The Sam
90 minutes

A co-world premiere with The Catastrophic Theatre, Houston

“In this play, we contain secret selves and animals inside us. In an instant, 20 years can pass. We travel the world while standing perfectly still.” What happens when Margie (raised to be a good girl; wants to be a lion) leaves home: twenty years whiz by like a moving train, logic and time escape their usual confines, steaks are eaten, tuxes are worn, the world expands, people transform, there is a rule that is breaking. In a world that is close to ours but is not ours, lions run with limitless grace, we all eat cake, have some champagne.


Moe Angelos, Eliza Bent, Toni Ann DeNoble, Ron Domingo, Brian Demar Jones, Polly Lee, Andrew Lynch

Creative Team

Scenic Designer: Brittany Vasta
Costume Designer: E.L. Hohn
Lighting Designer: Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew
Sound Designer: Michael Costagliola


Sunday, June 16 at 7pm
Monday, June 17 at 7pm
Tuesday, June 18 at 7pm
Thursday, June 20 at 7pm
Friday, June 21 at 9pm
Saturday, June 22 at 7pm
Sunday, June 23 at 3pm & 7pm
Wednesday, June 26 at 7pm
Thursday, June 27 at 7pm
Friday, June 28 at 3pm & 7pm
Saturday, June 29 at 3pm & 7pm
Sunday, June 30 at 3pm

Ticket Pricing

General Admission Week 1 (6/16-22): $25
General Admission Week 2 (6/23-30): $35
Premium Reserved Tickets (6/16-30): $55

*All tickets include an additional $2 Theater Restoration Fee, which keeps the lights on in our new digs.

At New Georges, founded in 1992, we launch and sustain artists (who are women) of assertive imagination — individually, as collaborators, and as a community — and advance their exuberantly theatrical new plays. We serve the largest ongoing working community of women and gender-nonconforming theater artists in New York City with career-transforming productions; a diverse slate of development programs; and The Room, our indispensable workspace, which celebrates its 25th anniversary this year. Honors for New Georges, its plays and its people include 3 Obie Awards, The Lilly Award, the Susan Smith Blackburn and Kesselring prizes.