Resident Directors

The Flea’s Resident Director program is an intensive practicum for early-career directors. Participants engage in the full spectrum of directing. They assistant-direct and stage manage each others shows and those of guest artists, review scripts for the theater, they direct readings and workshops of plays under consideration by the Artistic and Producing Directors, and ultimately direct their own full-length production as part of The Flea’s season.

Several Resident Directors have gone to become Associate Artists at The Flea. We serve as their artistic home – they know they can always premiere work at The Flea, even while taking advantage of directing opportunities elsewhere in the city and around the globe. We are proud to welcome our Associate Artists back as they continue to deepen and broaden independent directorial careers.

Participation in Resident Directors is by application and the program is free of charge. We open the program by application every season and will be posting for new directors in the fall/winter of 2020. Please check back periodically.

Current Resident Directors

Rebecca Aparicio
Jake Beckhard
Daniella Caggiano
Anne Cecelia Haney
Lauren Kiele DeLeon
Raz Golden
Kate Moore Heaney
Kimille Howard
Marina McClure
David Monteagudo
Will Steinberger
Tyler Thomas
Ran Xia

Current Associate Artists

Tom Costello
Kristan Seemel
Michelle Tattenbaum
Danya Taymor
Courtney Ulrich
Michael Raine